Stefan Neubauer © Daniela Huber; Johannes Piirto
Klassisch Zeitgenössisch
Stefan Neubauer, Johannes Piirto
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 26 September 2023
6.30 pm
Stefan Neubauer © Daniela Huber; Johannes Piirto

Stefan Neubauer clarinet
Johannes Piirto piano

Friedrich CERHA Konzert für Klarinette und Orchester
René STAAR Fünf Balladen op. 22/o; Studie für B-Klarinette »Lo-Shu« op. 29 l A Nr. 2 (WP)
Johannes PIIRTO näimme yölinnun lentävän (WP)
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Sonate für Klarinette und Klavier nach dem Bläserquintett op. 26/3, 4 (Arr. Felix Greissle)

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

In the Wind Quintet, op. 26, the twelve-tone method allowed Schönberg to explore traditional compositional methods in a new way. The title “Sonata” in the arrangement for solo instrument underscores the close connection with the formal world of Viennese Classicism. Cerha’s four-movement Clarinet Concerto also references historical models, but reconfigures them in an uncompromisingly contemporary musical language. In addition, there are novelties to discover in the works by René Staar and Johannes Piirto!

5.30 pm: Curator’s tour with Eike Feß
through the exhibition “Composition with Twelve Tones. Schönberg’s Reorganization of Music” (reservation required)

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.