aron quartett © Julia Wesely
25 years aron quartett • Two worlds
aron quartett
Arnold Schönberg Center
Thursday, 02 March 2023
6.30 pm
aron quartett © Julia Wesely

aron quartett
   Ludwig Müller violin
   Barna Kobori violin
   Georg Hamann viola
   Christophe Pantillon violoncello

Arnold SCHÖNBERG String Quartet No. 1 in d minor op. 7
Erich Wolfgang KORNGOLD String Quartet No. 3 in D major op. 34

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

“Why is Schönberg’s music so difficult to understand?” asked Alban Berg in 1924 in the “Musikblätter des Anbruch,” taking Schönberg’s String Quartet, op. 7 from 1904/05 as an example. The work is extremely complex and condenses a four-part cycle into a single movement lasting 50 minutes. Based on an undisclosed program, emotional immediacy links up with an aspiration for compositional actuality. By contrast, Korngold’s contribution to the genre seems wholly estranged from the era: it is a late reminiscence of Viennese Classicism from his US exile, combined with melodies from the composer’s successful movie scores.

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.